Energia - GPI Space
About Company :: Experiment REFLECTOR :: Contact  

    ABOUT EGS COMPANY

The Energia-GPI Space (EGS) Joint Company was founded in 1998 by RSC Energia (Russia) and Georgian Polytechnical Intellect Ltd. (GPI, Georgia).

The main directions of activities of the new company are:

  • system analysis of the large space reflectors Image (173Kb)
  • the design of universal deployment schemes for telecommunication systems antennas Image (173Kb)
  • the complex theoretical, engineering and experimental investigations of constructions on the stand complex
  • high precision assembly of devices on assembly stands Image (149Kb)
  • testing of unfoldable reflector antennas Image (30Kb)
  • delivery of completed devices to customer

The works on development of orbital reflectors were conducted as early as in 80-s. However it was not until now that they began to be widely used in the space telecommunication systems. The increase of the size of space antennas inceases the efficiency of their operation. Large antennas are most effective for mobile communications and navigation systems.

Several experiments on deployment of antenna constuctions were conducted aboard different spacecraft during last 20 years. The analysis of large-scale transformable reflectors available on world markets has shown that in spite of certain advances in this area only few of them are able to ensure the necessary shape precision and rigidness of the structure in the weightlessness. The reliable deployment is also not always possible. These problems arose because of the technologycal faults on any of the following stages:

  • manufacturing of parts taking into account resource characteristics of the structure
  • precision assembly on the stand complex
  • testing of antenna on the stand

   
 

The developers usually design the large unfoldable reflectors as mechanisms. But the theoretical and experimental investigations long time conducted by the team headed by professor Elguja Medzmariashvili in the GPI (Georgian Polytechnical Intellect Ltd.) company have shown that it is more adequate to consider these constructions as synthesis of mechanisms and large-scale buildings. This approach significantly increases the reliability of deployment, shape forming, rigidity and longevity of unfoldable constructions.

 
 
 

In last years several examples of space reflector antennas of new generation have been produced by the GPI. Some of them were designed in cooperation with the Dornier Satellite Systems - Daimler Chrysler Airspace (Germany) and Valemar and Gream (Liechtenstein) companies.

 
 
 

These works were made possible by the unique technological stand complex of the Georgian Institute of Space Constructions, Georgian Technology University and GPI, where it is possible to assemble, adjust and test large unfoldable constructions under the simulated space weightlesness.

 
 

The technological complex consists of:

  • Hydrobasin of 40 meter in diameter and 21 m high Image (88Kb)
  • Technological stand for precision antenna assembly, 40 m in diameter Image (42Kb)
  • Test building for unfoldable reflector antennas (404040 m) Image (50Kb)
  • Fully rotating device for the ground testing of radiotechnical parameters of antennas up to 30 m in diameter

   
 

Rocket and Space Corporation (RSC) "Energia" has big experience of design and space testing of large-scale constructions of different purposes. For example, in 1989 . two 20-m wide antennas were successfully deployed aboard the supply ship Progress-40. In 1991 the large-scale mast structure "Sofora" was assembled on the space orbiting station MIR, which is used for external jet engine. GPI employees took part in both experiments.

 
 
 

On the opinion of the RSC Energia president and chief designer Yury Semenov the creation of this enterprise is very reasonable. This will allow to join the highest scientific, technical and engineering capacities of the RSC Energia and GPI and fully utilize the results of fundamental and experimental investigations in the field of large deployable reflector antennas conducted by Georgian and Russian partners.

Energia - GPI Space
О компании :: Эксперимент РЕФЛЕКТОР :: Контакт English  

    О КОМПАНИИ

Cовместное предприятие "Energia - GPI Space" (EGS) было образовано в 1998 году. Его учредителями стали РКК "Энергия" им. С.П. Королева (Россия) и компания "Грузинский политехнический интеллект (GPI)", (Грузия).

Основные направления деятельности новой компании:

  • системный анализ больших космических рефлекторов Image (173Kb)
  • разработка универсальных схем развертывания антенн для телекоммуникационных систем Image (173Kb)
  • комплексные теоретические, конструкторские и экспериментальные исследования конструкций на базе стендового комплекса
  • высокоточная сборка изделий на стендах Image (149Kb)
  • тестирование развертываемых рефлекторных антенн Image (30Kb)
  • поставка готовых изделий заказчику

Работы по созданию орбитальных рефлекторов проводились еще в 80-х гг. Однако, их широкое внедрение в космические телекоммуникационные системы начинается только сейчас. Увеличение размеров космических антенн позволяет повысить коэффициент их использования. Наиболее эффективны крупногабаритные антенны для подвижной связи и навигационных систем.

За последние 20 лет на различных космических аппаратах проведен ряд экспериментов по развертыванию антенных конструкций. Анализ существующих на мировом рынке трансформируемых крупногабаритных рефлекторов показал, что, несмотря на определенные достижения в этой области, лишь немногие из них способны в невесомости обеспечить точность соответствия заданной формы и необходимую жесткость конструкции. Не всегда удается добиться и их надежного раскрытия. Причина - в нарушении условий технологичности на любом из следующих этапов:

  • изготовление деталей и узлов с учетом ресурсных характеристик конструкции
  • высокоточная сборка на стендовом комплексе
  • стендовое тестирование антенны

   
 

Разработчики обычно рассчитывают большие развертываемые рефлекторы как механизмы. Теоретические и экспериментальные исследования, проводимые в течение длительного времени коллективом под руководством профессора Элгуджи Медзмариашвили в компании GPI ("Грузинский политехнический интеллект") показали, что правильнее рассматривать такие конструкции как синтез механизмов и большепролетных сооружений. Такой подход существенно повышает надежность формообразования, жесткость и долговечность развертываемых конструкций.

 
 
 

За последние годы в "GPI" изготовлены образцы космических рефлекторных антенн нового поколения. Некоторые из них созданы в сотрудничестве с компанией "Дарнье сателлит системз - Даймлер Крайслер Аэроспейс" (Германия) и фирмами "Валемар" и "Греам" (Лихтенштейн).

 
 
 

Провести эти работы позволил уникальный стендовый комплекс Института космических сооружений Грузии, Грузинского технического университета и GPI, где, имитируя космическую невесомость, можно проводить сборку, юстировку и испытания больших развертываемых конструкций.

 
 

В состав комплекса входят:

  • гидробассейн диаметром 40 м и глубиной 21 м Image (88Kb)
  • стенд диаметром 40 м для высокоточной сборки антенн Image (42Kb)
  • зал для тестовых испытаний развертываемых рефлекторных антенн. Габариты помещения - 40х40х40 м Image (50Kb)
  • полноповоротное устройство для проверки в наземных условиях радиотехнических параметров антенн с диаметром зеркала до 30 м

   
 

Ракетно-коcмическая корпорация (РКК) "Энергия" им. С.П.Королева имеет большой опыт разработки и испытаний в космосе крупногабаритных конструкций различного назначения. Например, в 1989 г. на грузовом корабле "Прогресс 40" прошло успешное развертывание двух 20-метровых кольцевых антенн. В 1991г. состоялся эксперимент по сборке на орбитальной станции "Мир" крупногабаритной ферменной конструкции "Софора", на которой уже восьмой год работает выносная двигательная установка. В обоих экспериментах принимали участие и специалисты GPI.

 
 
 

По мнению президента и генерального конструктора РКК "Энергия" Юрия Семенова, создание такого предприятия - вполне закономерно. Это позволит объединить высочайший научно-технический, конструкторский и технологический потенциал РКК "Энергия" и GPI и полнее использовать результаты фундаментальных и экспериментальных исследований больших космических развертываемых рефлекторных антенн, полученные грузинскими и российскими партнерами.