Energia - GPI Space
About Company :: Experiment REFLECTOR :: Contact Русский  


The technical commission of the RSC "Energia" has analyzed the situation during the REFLECTOR experiment performed outside MIR station on July 23 1999, when the experimental reflector antenna developed by the EGS company did not unfold completely. The comission has concluded that there were three most probable reasons for the failure:

  • The atmospheric moisture could get into the hinges of a ring while equipment was inside the station. This moisture has frozen instantaneously after the equipment was taken to the outer space. The small crystals of ice have considerably increased the resistance to the deployment, and microengines power was not sufficient in order to completely open the ring of a reflector
  • The majority of microengines has burned down during a deployment, therefore it was not possible to complete the deployment
  • There was a break in the electric circuit because of poor contact of connectors, or because of a spontaneous disconnection of one of them

All versions were carefully checked in the RSC "Energia" and EGS, including experiments on the duplicate of a reflector on the test bench in Tbilisi. The calculations have shown that such a low content of moisture which was in the atmosphere of station during storage of reflector equipment, could not have an effect on the deployment of the structure. The second possible reason was also rejected on following reasons: in order to put engines of drives out of operation, the electric current should be many times above the nominal value. But in this case the current protection of an onboard electrical network of station would operate. Besides it was proved experimentally, that even three out of eight engines could ensure the succesful deployment.

The commission has made following conclusions from results of this analysis:

  1. The antenna was not deployed completely due to the disconnection in the onboard electrical circuit
  2. The mechanical part of reflector operated in complete accordance with the design
  3. In order to continue the investigations of the antenna the works on further antenna deployment and antenna jettisoning should be conducted during next spacewalk on July 28, 1999

Energia - GPI Space
О компании :: Эксперимент РЕФЛЕКТОР :: Контакт English  

    ПРИЧИНЫ НЕШТАТНОЙ СИТУАЦИИ

Техническая комиссия РКК "Энергия", проведя анализ ситуации, сложившейся при проведении эксперимента РЕФЛЕКТОР во время выхода в космос 23 июля 1999 г. на ОС МИР, в ходе которого экспериментальный рефлектор разработки компании EGS развернулся не полностью, остановилась на трех наиболее вероятных причинах:

  • во время нахождения аппаратуры на станции, в шарниры кольца могла попасть атмосферная влага, которая после выноса укладки в космическое пространство мгновенно замерзла. Кристаллики льда значительно увеличили сопротивление раскрытия, и усилий микродвигателей оказалось недостаточно, чтобы до конца раскрыть кольцо рефлектора
  • большая часть микродвигателей сгорела в процессе раскрытитя, поэтому не удалось довести разворачивание до конца
  • произошел разрыв электрической цепи либо из-за плохого соединения разъемов, либо из-за самопроизвольной расстыковки одного из них

Все версии прошли тщательную проверку в РКК "Энергия" и EGS, в том числе на дубликате рефлектора на стендовой базе в Тбилиси. Расчеты показали, что столь малое количество влаги, которая находилась в атмосфере станции во время нахождения там рефлектора, не могло сказаться на раскрытии конструкции. Вторая возможная причина была также отвергнута по следующим соображениям: для того, чтобы вывести из строя двигатели приводов, ток должен во много раз превышать номинал. Но в этом случае сработала бы токовая защита бортовой сети станции. Кроме того, удалось экспериментально доказать, что даже три из восьми двигателей могут успешно справиться с раскрытием.

По результатам этого анализа комиссия сделала следующие выводы:

  1. Рефлектор не был полностью развернут из-за прерывания в бортовой электрической цепи
  2. Механическая часть рефлектора функционировала полностью в соответствии с расчетами
  3. С целью продолжения исследований рефлектора необходимо провести работы по дальнейшему развертыванию и отталкиванию рефлектора во время следующего выхода в космос 28 июля 1999 г